Entertainers Cher and Goldie Hawn Admit to Struggles with Insecurity or Anxiety

Entertainers Cher and Goldie Hawn Admit to Struggles with Insecurity or Anxiety

I always find it interesting when people who eventually became successful in their profession, especially something as competitive as acting or singing, admit in interviews that they deal with low self esteem, anxiety, panic attacks, and insecurity – or that they did when first starting out.

Here are two articles pertaining to this, about Cher and Goldie Hawn:

Cher — Yes, THAT Cher — Still Has to Face Fears Every Time She Gets Onstage  – Dec. 2016

How Early Fame Caused Serious Panic Attacks for Goldie Hawn: ‘I Was Scared’ – May 2017

From

Cher — Yes, THAT Cher — Still Has to Face Fears Every Time She Gets Onstage  – Dec. 2016

Excerpt (in Q and A format with Cher):

Does it ever make you nervous that you’ve got to live up to some pretty high expectations when you perform?
I’m shaky before I go on. Once I go on, I know that I’m there to provide service, in a strange way. I’m there to make people happy. That’s my job.

You still get shaky? That surprises me. I mean … you’re Cher.
Oh, Jesus, I want to run. I always think, “I want my mother.”

Is that something you’ve always had to deal with?
Oh, God, yes. The first time I had to go onstage, Sonny [Bono] had to push me on the stage. He pushed me. I said, “I can’t do it, I can’t do it,” and he said, “OK, you don’t have to do it.” I relaxed, and he just pushed me right out onstage.

Once you get out there, when do you relax?
I probably relax when I start talking to the audience and we connect. Then the show just starts again and it’s like a bat out of hell and it just keeps going. After that it goes fine until the end.

From

 How Early Fame Caused Serious Panic Attacks for Goldie Hawn: ‘I Was Scared’ – May 2017

Excerpts:

She’s been a superstar for nearly five decades, but Goldie Hawn, 71, says her early years in the acting world were a stressful time.

“When I started working, I was really having anxiety, and I went to take care of it, seek counsel,” Hawn tells PEOPLE Editor-in-Chief Jess Cagle in the magazine’s new cover story.

After landing a role on Laugh-In in 1968, Hawn became a huge star. The next year she went on to star in the film Cactus Flower and won an Oscar. But despite her success, the actress says she still remembers the early criticism she received and admits it took a toll on her.

“I remember [movie critic] Arthur Knight gave me the worst [review], and I’ve never forgotten it: ‘Her performance was as flat as her chest.’ It was so mean, and getting over some of these things when you have a kindness in your heart is a really hard thing to cope with.”

In fact, things got so bad that there was a point when the sweet and bubbly star was close to a nervous breakdown.”I really didn’t want to go outside, I really lost my smile, I didn’t feel joyful, I was scared,” says Hawn. “They were like panic attacks. Your heart would race.”


See Also:

Nay-Sayers and Failure on the Way to Success: Singer Elvis Presley

Recovering from Failure – articles by various authors 

Ten Famous Artists Who Had to Deal with Rejection During Their Lifetime by Lori McNee 

You’re Not Failing Enough, by Diane Paddison

“I got a letter saying I wasn’t what they were looking for” – news reporter Lester Holt 

Become More Resilient by Learning to Take Joy Seriously by Brad Stulberg

How to Stop Caring About What Other People Think – Don’t Let A Little Criticism Hold You Back, by Simran Takhar

After 27 Rejections, Dr. Seuss Almost Burned His First Unpublished Book – But He Hung In There and Went on to Become a Best-Selling Author

Leave a Reply

