“I got a letter saying I wasn’t what they were looking for” – news reporter Lester Holt

“I got a letter saying I wasn’t what they were looking for” – news reporter Lester Holt 

“I got a letter saying I wasn’t what they were looking for” – news reporter Lester Holt

If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.

Although Lester Holt is now the anchor of “NBC Nightly News,” he revealed that his journalism career didn’t get off to a smooth start.

“In 1979, I was rejected for a job at NBC’s flagship radio station, WNBC,” he said in this week’s edition of Us Weekly’s 25 Questions. “I got a letter saying I wasn’t what they were looking for. I still smile every time I look at it.”…

[He went on to become a successful anchor with NBC network]


See Also:

Why the Best Success Stories Often Begin With Failure by Amy Crawford

Recovering from Failure – articles by various authors

Ten Famous Artists Who Had to Deal with Rejection During Their Lifetime by Lori McNee

You’re Not Failing Enough, by Diane Paddison

After 27 Rejections, Dr. Seuss Almost Burned His First Unpublished Book – But He Hung In There and Went on to Become a Best-Selling Author

Entertainers Cher and Goldie Hawn Admit to Struggles with Insecurity or Anxiety

Leave a Reply

