Actor Chris O’Dowd is a Great Big Jerk – Not Adorable, Not Nice, and No, Not Sexy

Actor Chris O’Dowd is a Great Big Jerk

I will say from the start this is going to be one very long post, though there is a TLDR (Too Long Didn’t Read) intro below.

I’ve never had a talent for being concise. This is something you may want to bookmark and read the rest later.

In a 2012 interview with GQ, which you can read here, actor Chris O’Dowd says:

“I don’t know, maybe there is something in female writing that I’m attracted to.”

Well, then, he should really love my blog posts about him.

(As of April 2017, I edited my last post about O’Dowd and his terrible movie role choices to toss in a few other things about the guy which annoy me – most of the new content is towards the bottom of that post. Don’t forget the other post I did where I dissected his low-key variety of sexism.)

The movie ‘Bridesmaids’ was first shown in movie theaters in the year 2011, but I did  not see it until I caught it for the first time on cable TV in spring or summer of 2015.

Sad Face Emoji In this movie, actor Chris O’Dowd played a nice guy named “Nathan Rhodes” who worked as a cop (a state trooper, specifically), and Kristen Wiig, who ended up being his love interest, played down-on-her-luck “Annie Walker.”

Actor Jon Hamm played the sexist creep dirt bag “Ted,” who was using Annie for sex.

This movie was more than just a movie for me when I saw it on TV in 2015. I saw this movie at a very low point in my life, and it helped to cheer me up – for a time, at least.


TLDR

Too Long, Didn’t Read summary:

I saw the ‘Bridesmaids’ movie on cable TV after undergoing (and still undergoing) some very upsetting events in my life, including the death of my mother, who was a very loving person and who was also a Republican and a devout Christian.

I found the ‘Bridesmaids’ movie encouraging at a low point in my life.

I wanted to learn more about the movie, and the people who made it and acted in it, so I did research about it on the internet, including interviews with actor Chris O’Dowd, who played the nice guy in the film (the role of the cop, Rhodes).

From what I saw, in real life, O’Dowd insults and ridicules Republicans and people of faith and concepts they believe in (such as prayer) on his Twitter account and in some interviews he’s given.

O’Dowd is into kind of vulgar or slightly sexist humor in real life, as well, which is a turn off to me – I prefer men who behave like gentlemen and who treat women with respect.

I was stunned and saddened to discover that the guy who played such a friendly, pleasant guy in the ‘Bridesmaids’ movie is, in real life, rather rude and condescending towards other people he doesn’t even know – specifically, he’s rude and insulting towards conservatives, Republicans, or theists.

One result of this is that I can no longer really enjoy watching the movie any more.


MY BACKGROUND

I’ll explain my background here, (and I’m sorry it’s going to be quite long), so you can understand my position better, before I state some of my grievances with O’Dowd much farther below, because my background plays a part in my disappointment with O’Dowd and some of the other people associated with this film.

MY MOM’S HEALTH

My mother died a few years before I saw the ‘Bridesmaids’ movie on television, and my mother’s death was the most painful and heart-breaking thing I’ve ever had to endure.

My mother had cancer and other health problems – her particular type of cancer left her in need of an organ transplant, which she got a few years into her diagnosis.

HARASSED ON JOB

A few years before my mother died, I quit my professional, full time, office job in large part to be her care-taker, as my father could not afford a professional one full-time.

At that previous job of mine, I was being harassed and bullied by one of several bosses daily to weekly for a period of a few years, which is another reason I had to leave.

Up until a few years ago, I was a painfully shy, quiet, passive, mouse of a person who had no self esteem.

symbolFlower2Because I used to be such an insecure, non-confrontational, mousy type of person, I spent my life avoiding angering people. So I did nothing to instigate the abuse I got from my boss.

The woman (my boss) was simply a micro-managing control freak, and a hateful little troll who enjoyed bullying people. (I was not her only target in the office, but I was her favorite -and most often abused- one.)

The constant bullying by that one boss was too stressful (especially in addition to my mother’s cancer diagnosis) and left me disillusioned and dreading going into the job every day.

EX FIANCE’ WAS A SELFISH JERK

I used to be engaged to a guy.

I broke up with my fiance’ about 2 or 3 years prior to my mother’s death, because he was financially exploiting me, he was very self-absorbed, and there were other reasons I don’t care to get into.

My ex fiance’ cleaned me out financially, pretty much leaving me broke.

DEPRESSION

For years prior to all this, I had clinical depression and anxiety, too.

After my mother passed away a few years ago, I had nobody to turn to. I had to endure the intense grief all alone, and it was the most difficult thing I’ve ever had to live through.

I actually became so distraught off and on in the years since she passed that I contemplated suicide.

My mother was my best friend and confidant. She was a very sweet and kind person. Losing her, and learning to live without her, was very difficult for me.

MY MOTHER’S and MY FAITH

My mother, by the way, (and this is relevant for this post’s purposes) was a very devout Christian woman who believed in life after death, she believed that Jesus of Nazareth is God, she read the Bible, and she believed in prayericonGreen2

(I was a Christian for many years myself but have been in a state of confusion as to my spiritual beliefs in the last 2 or 3 years and am not certain what I’d term myself at this stage – though I am not an atheist.)

My Mother used to be a Democrat, but at some point in her 30s or 40s, she became a Republican (another point that will become pertinent later in this post).

NEGATIVE FAMILY

While I do love the rest of my family, including my father and two older siblings, my Mom was the only “warm and fuzzy” one in the family.

My mother was the only one I could go to in my family and talk to without being shamed, insulted, criticized, judged, or brushed off.

The rest of my family is almost always hyper-critical, verbally abusive, and emotionally un-supportive. They’re not safe people to confide in, go to, or to expect encouragement from.

Although my mother was a very sweet woman, she was extremely codependent and what therapists call a “helicopter parent.”

My mother was always afraid for me and my safety, so she never encouraged me to go after my dreams, to take risks, and so on.

My father was (and remains) a very critical guy who never praised me nor gave me encouragement. symbolFlower1

No matter how hard I tried to earn my father’s approval or get a word of praise from him, bringing home the Straight-A report cards and so on, he’d never tell me, “great job” or, “I’m proud of you.” And that really bothered me – and it still does, but I’m trying to let go of this expectation.

MAKING MISTAKES IS SHAMEFUL

In my family, we were taught by Dad from the time we were kids that to fail makes you a failure. We were taught that making a mistake makes you a mistake.

I learned at an early age that making mistakes is shameful and to be avoided at all costs. As a result, I learned to be a perfectionist at a young age. I did not take risks or try new things.

Nobody in my family ever spoke words of encouragement to me. They actually put me down quite a bit (except for my mother).

While I was growing up I never heard things from my parents such as, “It’s okay to make mistakes! If you do, just get up and try again,” or, “your feelings matter,” or, “it’s okay to be assertive and defend yourself if someone is picking on you.” (I got all the opposite messages, actually.)

DEALING WITH GRIEF

A few years after my mother died and the grief was notflowerWhite lifting, I read books and blogs by psychologists to learn how to cope, and they said it was imperative I seek out others to talk to about my grief, so I did just that.

I tried taking to family, including extended family, and Christians at local churches, and I asked them if I may speak to them from time to time about the grief I was undergoing.

Instead of being met with empathy and encouragement, all of these Bible-believing, church-going people were critical, shaming, or judgmental towards me, while a smaller percentage were just too selfish or lazy to be bothered with taking time out of their month to take a phone call from me.

Yet another type of Christian I approached kept giving me shallow platitudes, which only made me feel worse.

I ended up having to get through my mother’s death all alone.

REASONS

I had to look for things, for reasons, no matter how small, to hang on to day by day, or month to month, after my mother died.

About a year or two after my Mom passed, a new television show started. I became very interested in this show, and it held my attention. I watched it every week.

One of the things that kept me from taking an over-dose or hanging myself in the years since’s mother’s death was wanting to see what happened to the characters in the next episode.

I honestly had nothing else to hang on to, or that was worth living for, at that time. I was not getting support from the Christians I knew, and I did not sense the presence of God at this time.

SEEING BRIDESMAIDS MOVIE IN 2015

Some time around 2014, I began job-hunting again.

I applied at professional, full-time positions in my field (and there aren’t many where I am living), and I also applied for part-time positions at minimum-wage sales clerk jobs (while waiting to get a full-time job).

I was not having any luck at either type with even getting interviews at either type of position. I was very discouraged.

Here I was, job hunting for a year, and nobody would hire me.

I still felt the loss of my mother, too.

Bridesmaids Movie Poster The following year, I caught ‘Bridesmaids’ on a cable TV channel.

I almost stopped watching it, though, as soon as it came on, as I don’t like raunchy humor or crude scenes, and the first scene in that movie is in fact pretty raunchy, though shot and edited in such a way so that the audience doesn’t see any nudity.

The main character in the film, “Annie Walker,” who is played by Kristen Wiig, was very relatable for me.

In the ‘Bridesmaids’ film (plot / character summary):

 Annie’s bakery goes out of business; her boyfriend at that time breaks up with her; she has a series of dates with jerks; she’s acting as a sex toy to sleazy, selfish Ted (played by Jon Hamm); she gets fired from her minimum wage job; can’t pay rent any more; has to move back in with her mother – and on and on with the bad breaks in life.

Her fictional movie life was certainly mirroring my own real life in several different ways.

During the film, Annie meets up with Megan (played by Melissa McCarthy) who gives her a ‘Tough Love’ sort of pep talk, where she tells Annie it’s okay to make mistakes and fail in life, but get up and try again, instead of retreating from life and spending all day on the couch.

Annie also runs into O’Dowd’s character, Nathan Rhodes, a cop, a few times, and he too tells her it’s okay to fail at something in life – that failing at something does not make her a failure.

This was all very eye-opening to me, because I didn’t get these kind of positive messages from my family – not when I was a kid, and not as an adult, and not even in the years since my mother died.

I needed to hear positive messages from somewhere, and the closest I could obtain it was via fictional characters in a movie.

I was not finding the Bible, prayer, or my Christian faith much help after my mother died.

As I said already, Christians I went to for comfort after my mother’s loss were more condemning towards me than empathetic or supportive.

I was having to find life-affirming or encouraging messages elsewhere. And the “Bridesmaids” movie was one such source for me.

DISAPPOINTMENT SETS IN

That is, until I began researching some of the actors from the film online. That was when a series of disappointments began.

I did some general research on the ‘Bridesmaids’ film a few months after I saw it on TV in 2015, to find out who was behind it, why it was created, and so on.

I read many articles by online entertainment news sources that discussed the making of the film, audience reception, how some feminists were trying to push it as being a feminist movie, etc.

I tried looking up Kristen Wiig online to find out more about her, but she does not have a Twitter account and is not on Facebook. She also doesn’t seem to grant many interviews, either.

O’DOWD’S TWITTER ACCOUNT

I read a few interviews O’Dowd gave and watched a few interviews of him on You Tube.

birdLogo O’Dowd seemed innocuous enough at that point, so I even briefly followed him on one of my Twitter accounts (not the “Buttered Popcorn” one, however – my Buttered Popcorn Twitter account) – I followed him on another one of my Twitter accounts, for about two weeks, before I un-followed him, when I started realizing what a huge jerk the guy is.

I’m usually pretty picky about what celebrities I follow on this one Twitter account of mine. I’m not one of those people who signs up to follow lots of actors and singers.

I usually research a celebrity, or glance over their Twitter page, before signing up to follow them.

On my primary Twitter account (which is not the same as my Buttered Popcorn account linked to at this blog), I refuse to follow celebrities who seem mean, crude, arrogant, or who post non-stop political content, or who are very negative about how they express their political views.

I glanced over O’Dowd’s Twitter account at that time, at least the first half of the page, and I didn’t see anything objectionable, so I followed his account.

But then I found it rather strange I didn’t see any Tweets from him after a couple of weeks, so I visited  his Twitter page again to see if there was anything recent.

I scrolled down more, and was alarmed at a few of the things I was seeing.

At one point, O’Dowd posted a link to liberal paper The Guardian, which went to an editorial where the author was ridiculing and criticizing people of faith for offering up prayer in response to national tragedies (such as mass shootings).

O’Dowd apparently agreed to the content of that Guardian page that was mocking the concept of prayer, as he linked to it.

I thought, “Oh no, this is not good. He must be an anti-theist – an atheist who hates theists and likes to insult them and mock their beliefs all the time.”

I then clicked over and scrolled down the list of people O’Dowd follows on Twitter, and I was very dismayed to see that one of whom is famous, cranky, condescending atheist Richard Dawkins.

O’Dowd also follows an assortment of liberal or Democrat Twitter accounts that exist solely to ridicule Republicans or conservatives.

(By the way, this guy originally hails from Ireland. Why on earth is he so interested in American politics? Who is he to comment upon American politics?)

After I saw all that, I did some more research. I googled for more information and watched and read more interviews. I was not happy with what I was seeing.

REGARDING ATHEISM

Before I get to what I found on O’Dowd, I’d like to say I have had friends over my lifetime (and even now) who are all over the continuum of religious and political views.

I have, and have had, friends and acquaintances in real life and online, who are Christian, agnostic, atheist, Jewish, Roman Catholic, Wiccan, New Age, Democrat, Republican, moderate, apolitical, liberal, conservative – and I get along just fine with all of them.

We agree to disagree on politics and religion and treat each other respectfully if and when we discuss religion and politics.

I don’t believe in mocking or insulting people from the outset over political or religions views. I don’t see a reason to demonize or ridicule people over such differences.

What I’ve found with my Non-Christian friends, or friends of other political persuasions, is that we seldom discuss religious or political issues anyway.

We get to know each other over things like whatever our favorite bands are, discussing our pets, art, etc., and so on.

While I don’t agree with atheism, I do not hate atheists.

ANTI-THEIST ATHEISTS

I do however, have a big problem with a certain sub-category of atheists known as A.T.A.s (“Anti Theist Atheists“). They usually go by this term themselves; it is not of my creation. textAntiTheismAtheism

In every encounter I’ve personally had with ATAs, or when I’ve lurked on forums, Twitter, and blogs and have seen them talking to other ATAs or to people of faith, without exception, every one I’ve ever seen falls into one of these two categories:

1- Pretense of civility is present but they are incredibly smug, arrogant, condescending, know-it-alls

2- Hateful, vitriolic, bitter, into name-calling

As far as I am concerned, both categories of anti-theist atheist fall under the rubric of Verbally Abusive.

Read more about verbal abuse here (on Google Books): The Verbally Abusive Relationship.

However, one way anti-theist atheists differ from standard verbal abusers is that they don’t seem to mind abusing people in public, in front of witnesses.

ATAs feel completely justified and entitled to verbally abuse anyone who disagrees with them on matters of religion.

There is no reasoning with either variety of ATA. (I have tried.)

ATAs are not rational or reasonable – not on the issues of religion, theism, atheism, or related subjects.

ATAs may insist there is no god or gods, but many of them oddly spend a lot of passionate effort and energy in discussing and ranting about the supposedly fictional god(s), and those who believe in a god – all over the internet, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

I don’t believe in unicorns, but I don’t spend my time arguing against their existence, and I don’t care if someone else wants to believe they exist.

horseCartoon

Some people who believe in a deity find such belief comforting or helpful, not harmful.

I truly believe this type of atheism (that is, anti theism) is possibly indicative of a mental health disorder and should have its own category in the D.S.M. (The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders).

“The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA) and offers a common language and standard criteria for the classification of mental disorders” (Source)

I want to remind you, I am speaking only of anti-theism atheism here, not of atheism in general, or of all atheists.

I have known atheists who were delightful, loving, easy-going people, even in regards to their atheism. These are your “old school” atheists, who, contrary to the anti-theists such as Dawkins, have an “agree to disagree” view in regards to religion and theism.

The old school atheists don’t go out of their way to bash people of faith or faith itself. They are not obnoxious blowhards about faith or deity.

symbolFlower1The anti-theist atheists will insist they don’t have a religion and are opposed to religion, but they act just as dogmatic as, or as though they are on a crusade or jihad, every bit as much as any fundamentalist Christian, Mormon, or Muslim I’ve ever read about or have met.

Some of them, I have seen them say on other sites, are seeking converts to anti-theism atheism. They are evangelical with their atheism.

CHRIS O’DOWD’S AWFUL  ANTI-THEIST SCREED IN INTERVIEW

Based upon what I’ve seen of O’Dowd so far, and his dreadful comments and attitudes towards people of faith and of theism, he falls under point 1:

  1. Pretense of civility is present but they are incredibly smug, arrogant, condescending, know-it-alls

In a 2014 interview, O’Dowd bashed faith, theism, and people of faith.

SEXIST and TRASHY G.Q. 2014 MAGAZINE COVER(S)

Chris O'Dowd's Sexist Photoshoot
Chris O’Dowd’s Sexist, Gross, and Sleazy Feb 2014 Magazine Photoshoot

Before I get to the link about that snotty interview, I wanted to say when I first read about the interview about a year or more ago, one site carried an image of the magazine’s cover.

On that cover, O’Dowd is posed, in the center, between two bimbos who are scantily attired. (See the images to the left.)

It struck me as being a sexist magazine cover, and it would not go down well with women who liked him as the Rhodes character from ‘Bridesmaids.’

Posing between two semi- nude bimbos (the women are being presented as such) is not something the Rhodes character would do; that would be more of a “Ted” thing to do (Ted being the sleazy boyfriend type character in the film).

O’Dowd should have told the art director, the photographer, or whomever responsible, that he would refuse to pose with the models, but no.

In looking up the magazine cover a few moments ago to provide a copy for this blog, I was shocked and disgusted to see there was an entire photo series of O’Dowd posing with bimbo women, some of them with their asses half hanging out their lingerie, or licking his face. Disgusting.

What a dope. What a sleaze ball.

Does O’Dowd not get that women who liked him for Bridesmaids, as Rhodes, liked him or the character, precisely because Rhodes was the kind of guy who would NOT have participated in this sort of thing??

Was his wife, O’Porter, okay with this photoshoot? I find it hard to believe she was fine with it. I wonder about her if she was okay with it.

Daily Mail did an article about O’Dowd’s magazine interview and photo shoot for some reason – you can see it here (Feb 2014).

Comment by “Follow the Rabbit” under the article on Daily Mail:

“In the beginning he [O’Dowd] had attempted to become a decent comedian. Nowadays His Pompousness is unwatchable. Dreadful non-actor.”

–(end quote)–

And contrary to the magazine’s heading, no, Chris does not “rock.” At all.

O’DOWD’S INTERVIEW WITH BRITISH G.Q. MAGAZINE

textObnoxiousODowdInterview Here is one link about the GQ interview, complete with O’Dowd’s obnoxious comments about theism and theists:

Actor Chris O’Dowd says religion is ‘unacceptable’ (via SMH, Sydney Morning Herald, March 2014)

Excerpts from the SMH page:

O’Dowd has told Britain’s GQ magazine: “For most of my life, I’ve been, ‘Hey, I’m not into it, but I respect your right to believe whatever you want’. But as time goes on, weirdly, I’m growing less liberal. I’m more like, ‘No, religion is ruining the world, you need to stop!’.

“There’s going to be a turning point where it’s going to be like racism. You know, ‘You’re not allowed to say that weird s**t! It’s mad! And you’re making everybody crazy!’

“And you know, now America can’t have a president that doesn’t say he believes in God. So we’re f**ked! Like, they f**ked everything!

“You wanna go and live in your weird cult and talk about a man who lives in a cloud, you do that, but don’t. I mean, you really think that Barack Obama believes in God? No way!”

–(end excerpt)–

There is so much wrong with his comments in that excerpt I hardly know where to begin. I don’t think I feel like dissecting it all, so I will just focus on one or two thoughts.

I am willing to bet O’Dowd developed such a sour disposition to faith after having been exposed to an anti-theist such as author Richard Dawkins.

Via PJ Media:

Actor Chris O’Dowd: Religion to Become as Offensive as Racism

Excerpts from the PJ Media page:

O’Dowd’s increasingly illiberal view toward the religious echoes that expressed in much of academia and the scientific community.

Richard Dawkins personifies the extreme. Given his many critical quotes regarding religion, Dawkins seems to speak from O’Dowd’s imagined future. Here’s a choice selection:

“I am against religion because it teaches us to be satisfied with not understanding the world.”

“Faith is the great cop-out, the great excuse to evade the need to think and evaluate evidence. Faith is belief in spite of, even perhaps because of, the lack of evidence.”

“Bush and bin Laden are really on the same side: the side of faith and violence against the side of reason and discussion. Both have implacable faith that they are right and the other is evil. Each believes that when he dies he is going to heaven. Each believes that if he could kill the other, his path to paradise in the next world would be even swifter. The delusional “next world” is welcome to both of them. This world would be a much better place without either of them.”

–(end Dawkins quotes)–

That belief, that the world would be better without religious people, holds a latent power which could easily be channeled against religious liberty. At the risk of evoking the rhetorical garbage that is “Godwin’s law,” believing that the world would be better without a particular group of people rarely bodes well.

–(end article excerpts)–

My comments about O’Dowd’s views:

First of all, in a highly ignorant fashion, O’Dowd apparently groups all religions together, as though all are one.

symbolFlower3There are major differences among world religions  – some, such as Buddhism, do not even have a deity.

Christians don’t all agree with one another on every point of doctrine or orthopraxy.

Roman Catholics don’t agree with Protestants, and among Protestants (such as Methodists, Lutherans, and Presbyterians and more), they don’t agree with each other on everything, either.

Shia and Sunni Muslims don’t agree with each other, nor do they like or agree with Judaism.

O’DOWD, ATHEISM, INTELLIGENCE and EDUCATION

To label anyone and everyone who believes in a deity or who is an adherent of a world religion as being in a cult, or implying they are all unthinking lemmings, is intellectually sloppy and unfair.

Further, O’Dowd seems to be implying in his comments with G.Q. magazine that people of faith are uneducated or stupid.

I learned from reading articles about O’Dowd that he never completed college.

Guess what – I have. I have a B.A. degree and my cumulative GPA was close to 4.0. I finished university; I got my degree.

But I’m not an atheist.

Does O’Dowd honestly feel he is intellectually superior to every person of faith, or people such as me, merely because he is an atheist? Talk about hubris.

I at least finished college, buddy. You didn’t. I made high grades in my courses.

Being an atheist does not automatically confer a higher I.Q. to, or more insight into, a person.

Goodness knows that O’Dowd’s particular brand of atheism has not made him likable but makes him insufferable – and rude.

O’DOWD LIVING IN A LIBERAL, ATHEIST BUBBLE

One wonders if O’Dowd (like a lot of liberal actors) ever gets out of his liberal (and atheist) bubble.

Does this guy not know anyone who is a person of faith, or who is a right winger or a Republican?

Supposing that some of his former, current, or future co-workers in movies and television are conservative or people of faith? Doesn’t he care he just insulted them in that interview?

Does O’Dowd ever read conservative news sites, or does he only stick with left wing rags? symbolFlower4

I suspect that O’Dowd never gets out of his comfort zone and befriends people who hold political or religious views that differ from his own.

If he would do that, he would come to realize that not everyone who holds opposing views is stupid, evil, or terrible.

Has O’Dowd ever actually read the Bible, especially The New Testament of the Bible? (Here’s a link to it online, starting at the Gospel of John, on Bible Gateway.)

Has O’Dowd ever interacted with the work of Christian apologists, such as William Lane Craig?

There are articles by William Lane Craig available here:

Apologetics by William Lane Craig – on Reasonable Faith site, link is to work for laypersons (scholarly pieces also available)

William Lane Craig’s Twitter Account –  @RFupdates

Equating any and all faith (such as all of Christianity) to racism, as O’Dowd did, is deeply offensive and insulting.

Not all of Christianity is bad. Christians have built a lot of hospitals and universities, and as for the individuals who attempt to live it out, they may do charity work, or some may help the people around them on a regular basis.

Here’s an atheist O’Dowd could learn from, who left a comment under a blog post about O’Dowd’s opinions about theism:

Comment by jcmmanuel (atheist), emphasis added by me (source: Mama Mia site):

[Regarding Chris O’Dowd’s comments about theism and people of faith in GQ magazine]:

Let’s keep it simple: we have had the ‘new atheism’ throwing their binary thinking in the mainstream for over a decade now.

I am atheist myself, but I don’t think being a good atheist requires being an asshole.

Chris O’Dowd is an idiot as he’s trying to call the shots here.

A man in his ‘informed’ position should have known that even in 2002/2003 the ‘new atheism’ was already running behind the reality: conflict-based solution rhetoric was already widely being treated as a thing of the past, not something we wanted to support in the 21st century anymore. Read your philosophers.

Choose the best atheists if you prefer – read Thomas Nagel to begin with, perhaps. But atheists like us should always know these days that the Dawkins-era is one full of controversy and not eligible for further expansion. We don’t want to run backward.

Atheists have to keep THEIR atheism (my atheism, too) out of OUR (read: humankind’s) science. If we don’t do this, then we can’t ask Christians to keep their religion out of our science and our politics, for instance. Atheists can’t have it both ways. We have to be more honest than this.

To my Christian, Islamic and other religious friends: don’t buy this shit. And don’t think all atheists are like this please. I know too well how many believers don’t take their religion all-literally.

I may be godless but I know what a metaphor is, and I know old stories and myths are meant to convey some meaning.

I also know the way you belief is not necessarily an ‘exclusivist’ belief, you don’t necessarily think only those who believe in god can love their neighbors etc.

So please, take Chris O’Dowd with a grain of salt. I would even say: take it with a bucket of salt.

—(end comment)—

Thank you, jcmmanuel. I think jcmmanuel and I could get along just fine. He’s an atheist who gets it. You don’t have to treat people of faith like the enemy. It is possible to respectfully agree to disagree.

O’DOWD’S WIFE, DAWN O’PORTER

Further confusing matters is that O’Dowd’s wife, Dawn O’Porter (nee Porter) who is also an atheist (seriously, he married an atheist – does he think people of faith have cooties?), said in an interview, reprinted on GOSS, in May 2015:

Dawn Porter reveals: ‘I never fight with my Catholic in-laws’

Dawn Porter has insisted that she never fights with her Catholic in-laws over her lack of religious beliefs.

The TV presenter has been wed to Irish comedian Chris O’Dowd since 2012 and revealed there’s no bad blood between herself and Chris’ parents. symbolFlower5

Despite being an atheist, Dawn hates it when people challenge others’ religious stance.

“There are a lot of religious people in my life, such as my Catholic in-laws and my dear friend Carrie, who is a Christian,” she wrote in Glamour Magazine.

“Despite my own strong feelings against religion, the idea of anyone challenging them at a dinner party makes me so angry.”

–(( end excerpts ))–

Oh. I see. But is she, O’Porter, okay with her husband’s, O’Dowd’s, public rant against faith and people of faith in that UK, 2014 issue of G.Q.?

So O’Dowd’s parents are Catholics, which, I assume, means they believe in a deity? But Chris O’Dowd still feels fine insulting them over their theism and faith vis a vis a magazine interview?

Speaking of O’Dowd’s wife.

O’Dowd said once, in a quote I saw, that when he was single, he wouldn’t date actresses because they are all supposedly neurotic.

However, his wife is insecure and neurotic about her atheism, as can be observed in an old blog post she wrote, where she complained for several paragraphs about being upset all because a man in a store around Christmastime asked her if she knew Jesus Christ.

O’Porter’s web site is located here. Her blog is located here.

The post where O’Porter rants on in a neurotic fashion about a guy asking her if she believes in Jesus Christ is here:

Quick trip to Tesco = Guilt trip about being an atheist. – Dec 2011

A guy at a store asks her if she is a Christian, and she writes about the experience:

I guess I didn’t want to be the bad guy. He is a Christian for Christ’s sake. I am an atheist. He is all smiley and comfortable asking that question, I am now twitching and I think I might have wee’d on the floor.

He then said ‘Good. Good. Very good’.

–(( end excerpt ))–

 The guy was clearly not persecuting her for being an atheist. If she didn’t know Jesus Christ, he may have wanted to politely share the Gospel with her, or invite her to a church service, and that’s all. He wasn’t going to beat her up or slap her.

The only one making O’Porter feel guilty about being an atheist is . . . O’Porter. See this commentary on the human conscience and the Bible’s New Testament passage of Romans chapter 12 for more on that.

O’Porter’s rant about that incident sounds fairly neurotic to me, a definite over-reaction- but O’Dowd, in spite of his stated dislike of neurotics, married one anyway.

I glanced over a recent interview O’Porter gave (she’s promoting some new book), and she exclaims in it at one point the name “Jesus Christ.”

Er. She should probably know that a lot of Christians find that using the name and title “Jesus Christ,” as though it’s an expletive, is very offensive. Maybe she knows and doesn’t care.

From the March 2017 article Dawn O’Porter: ‘I was living the Hollywood life, but I felt like a loser’ 

While Chris, says Dawn, is a hands-on father, he is also much in demand in Hollywood, and with several upcoming projects, including the Van Gogh biopic Loving Vincent, there can be occasional periods apart.

‘He’s in New Mexico a lot at the moment filming the TV series Get Shorty,’ says Dawn, ‘but since it’s only two hours away, I can visit at the weekend sometimes. I’m lucky that Chris’s job takes us all over the place – although when he’s away, Art [O’Porter’s son with O’Dowd] will sometimes be the only person I speak to for days. I’m sociable, but I can be very insular at times, too.’

// end excerpts

Chris O’Dowd in “much demand?” Really? He doesn’t have a long list of show or movie credits listed on IMDB’s site, and from the several movies I’ve seen of him, he’s on screen usually less than five minutes. I wouldn’t say he’s in much demand.

O’Dowd is not a Robert Redford, Clark Gable, Brad Pitt or Tom Cruise (actors who actually were, or remain, heavily in demand).

That aside, I find it interesting O’Porter admits she and O’Dowd spend a lot of time apart.

I wouldn’t be surprised if the two divorce in the next 10 to 15 years, in part to the fact she sounds as though she is already living the life of a single mother, which most women will grow to detest and resent after awhile.

I read an article once about Priscilla Presley that one reason she divorced famous rock singer Elvis is because Elvis was on the road a lot, leaving her back at home.

When Elvis found out how lonely Priscilla was without him at home, he got a karate teacher named Mike Stone to give her karate lessons.

Stone and Priscilla started an affair, and she eventually left Elvis. You can read a little more about that here, at the Daily Mail.

Via Elvis Australia” (taken from Ladies Home Journal – August, 1973):

More time with Elvis was a continual hope for Priscilla, but it was never to be. ‘In mid-1972 I finally realized that things were not going to change – and that we had separate lives completely’.

From People magazine:

The King retreated into pills and spent more time touring. The marriage drifted toward the shoals. Priscilla found letters from women addressed to Elvis, one signed Lizard Tongue.

“The pressures of the road,” says Axton, caused their marriage to founder. “She loved him and wanted to be with him and share everything with him. And he did too, but he said, ‘I can’t.’ ”

By 1976, Priscilla had washed the makeup from her eyes. “My life was his life,” she told PEOPLE in 1978. “He had to be happy. My problems were secondary.”

But, she added, “I want to grow. I want to do things.” Priscilla began an affair with Mike Stone, a karate teacher, in the early 1970s.

She told an incredulous Elvis that she was leaving him in February 1972. When Priscilla asked for a divorce, “it killed him,” says Axton. “It hurt his ego, and it hurt his heart.”

(end excerpts)

The lesson: being married to someone who’s famous and making millions of dollars is not a guarantee of happiness or a divorce-proof marriage. And O’Porter is already saying she and O’Dowd are spending a lot of time apart.

I’m not sure what O’Dowd’s morals are, but if he’s like 99% of other famous men I’ve read about, I wouldn’t be surprised if he starts having affairs on his wife, or already has had a few, when they are apart when he’s off filming shows and movies – which again, would make him more like the dirt-ball “Ted” character from “Bridesmaids” and less like the friendly, sweet cop character he played.

O’DOWD IS NOT SEXY,  NOT ADORABLE

I’ve seen a small percentage of women online refer to O’Dowd as “sexy,” including  his wife in one of her Instagram posts about a month or two ago. I’ve seen one or two women on Twitter describe him as such. Good lord no.

textNotAdorableBlue O’Dowd is not sexy nor physically attractive.

Which is precisely one big reason why he was cast as the Nice Guy Rhodes in ‘Bridesmaids.’

Jon Hamm was cast as the stereotypical conventionally handsome and sexy rich guy with a sports car, so the Nice Guy with below- average- looks and small salary had to go to an actor who is slightly homely – looking.

Why is that so?

Because one of the main points of the ‘Bridesmaids’ movie is that many women will tolerate rudeness and abuse off a man if the man is good-looking, has a sports car, and is wealthy-

But the movie is saying, women should look past that shallow, external stuff and be willing to date the guy who is not quite so hot and sexy and wealthy.

Hence,  the ‘Bridesmaids’ casting formula:

Jon Hamm (good looking guy) = Sexy Suave Wealthy Boyfriend Jerk Ted

Chris O’Dowd (homely guy) = Dorky, Average to Below-Average Looking -But Very Sweet- Nice Guy Rhodes

The reason so many women liked Rhodes from the film is because he was genuinely a nice guy – not a sexist, selfish toad like Ted.

Most women liked O’Dowd’s character (Rhodes) in spite of his homeliness; they didn’t find him “sexy” or attractive. I know I didn’t.

As a matter of fact, if you check out some of the comments women left under Rhodes-related movie scenes on You Tube, I saw a few that said things like,

“You know, this Rhodes guy isn’t much to look at, I wouldn’t look at him twice if I saw him on the street, but he has such a wonderful personality.”

And about a million women would agree with such comments and hit the “Like” or “Agree” button.

Entirely relevant to this discussion is this essay at Esquire, which mentions Chris O’Dowd as Nathan Rhodes:

The Rise of the MANG (Moderately Attractive Nice Guy) – via Esquire, by Noah Gittell

Excerpts:

“He’s sweet, loving, and one-dimensional. A troubling new movie archetype.”

….The trope is becoming so common that it deserves its own name. Let’s call him the Moderately Attractive Nice Guy (MANG).

You know the type. He is the sweet and steady man whom the female protagonist would be very happy with if she could only respect herself enough to be loved by him.

He is good-looking but not in an intimidating way. He’s unusually nice, so much so that the leading lady has trouble even believing it. He has some kind of normal, steady job that contrasts with just how little the heroine has her career figured out.

And his sole purpose in life is to be rejected by the woman so that she can later see what a terrible mistake she has made and that she deserves a nice guy like him.

Examples of the Moderately Attractive Nice Guy include Officer Rhodes (Chris O’Dowd) in Bridesmaids…

–(end excerpts)—

I don’t agree with all view points expressed in that page at Esquire, but note that the author is pointing out that the Rhodes character is a somewhat recent trend in Hollywood films: the love interest to a troubled woman who wins her over, not because he’s really physically attractive or sexy, but may be actually kind of homely looking, but who treats her kindly.

In light of the fact O’Dowd apparently has somewhat sexist views of women, and he thinks it’s okay to insult Christians, other theists, and Republicans, he is not “adorable,” either.

Said someone named Megs, in the comments section of this page (at “Mama Mia” site, source):

“O’Dowd’s anti-religious rant sounds more like racism than any religious rant I have heard lately. I used to think he was adorable. Now, not so much. Pity.”

I agree with Megs. He’s not just homely on the outside, but he’s homely on the inside too – ugly mentality. notAdorableInebriated2012

By the way, O’Dowd stumbling around looking haggard because he’s drunk is not “adorable,” at all, contrary to The Frisky site, here. (There are photos of O’Dowd on that page looking like a bum in a stupor while leaving some social event.)

I’m not the only woman thoroughly put off by O’Dowd’s anti-religious commentary. Via this page:

Hollywood celebrity looks forward to religion being treated like racism

Said Rachel at the bottom of that page:

“That’s [O’Dowd’s rude comments about faith in GQ magazine] made me very sad. I love Chris O’Dowd, and its upset me so much to read what he said. Pray for him.”

O’DOWD AND POLITICS

I don’t feel it’s entirely appropriate for celebrities to publicly discuss politics, especially not on their social media, or to publicly bad-mouth those who don’t share their views.

(As a reminder: I am a right winger, I used to be a Republican, but am now an Independent. I did not vote for Trump or Hillary Clinton in the 2016 American Presidential election because I didn’t like either candidate. However, I don’t insult people who did vote for either one.)

americanPoliticalPartySymbols I was disappointed to see that O’Dowd has done things like not only run down Donald Trump on his Twitter account, but in the Fall of 2016 on his Twitter account, O’Dowd has mocked any and all Republicans who were at the RNC (Republican National Convention, political gathering).

During a televised segment at the RNC showing various Republicans chanting, “U.S.A.! U.S.A.! U.S.A.!, ” O’Dowd said in response, in a Tweet, something to the effect he was surprised that they could spell “U.S.A.” correctly (implying they are stupid).

So let me get this straight: it’s not enough for O’Dowd to criticize a particular candidate, but he also feels it’s acceptable to publicly trash an entire group of people (Republicans) that he’s never met, he doesn’t know, and those Republicans comprise the American movie-going public.

You know, O’Dowd is insulting some of the very people who may have paid money to see him in a movie before, or who might have considered doing so in the future. Republicans and conservatives also enjoy seeing movies.

These people O’Dowd ridiculed might not only be kind-hearted, decent people, but they are potential audience members. O’Dowd is not as bright as he thinks he is – alienating folks who may otherwise pay to see you in a movie.

O’DOWD, AMERICAN VICE PRESIDENT PENCE, IRELAND, AND ISLAM

Then I just came across this:

Chris O’Dowd insults US Vice-President Mike Pence in the most hilariously Irish way – March 2017

irelandFlagWhy was O’Dowd insulting Pence (American Vice President)? Because Pence had the temerity to wish Irish-Americans a Happy St. Patrick’s day in a Tweet on Twitter, basically.

(I didn’t find O’Dowd’s response to Pence “hilarious,” either, but just plain hateful and rude.)

As someone who is part Irish herself (part of my father’s family immigrated to the U.S. from Ireland – they intermarried with full-blooded Native American Indians), I am fine with Pence and Trump taking a tough stance against immigrants from Islamic nations.

I don’t recall the Irish, when they first came to the USA in the 19th or 20th centuries, strapping suicide bombs to themselves and blowing themselves up, as well as natives, and while screaming, “For Ireland!,” or “For the Pope!”

It’s quite false to equate Irish immigrants to the Muslim ones, as some were doing online. I don’t see today’s Irish immigrants to the United States driving trucks and cars into groups of civilians, like Muslims do in the UK.

Comparing yesterday’s (or even today’s) Irish immigrants to the United States to Muslim ones is intellectually dishonest and comparing apples to oranges.

None of which is to say I think all Muslims are terrorists, but I can’t help but notice in the news that most terrorists turn out to be Muslims. islamMoonBlue

Via CNN, about the Muslim terrorist who intentionally drove a car into a crowd of people in Sweden, April 2017, in the name of his religion:

Stockholm truck attack kills 4; suspect held on suspicion of terror

Via New York Times, about the Muslim who intentionally mowed over several people in London with a car, in the name of his religion:

Deadly Attack Near U.K. Parliament; Car Plows Victims on Westminster Bridge

Yeah, I just don’t recall hearing about a pattern of Irish immigrants (specifically from the Republic of Ireland) to the USA who killed people in the name of their religion or nation of origin, or what have you.

THE NATHAN RHODES CHARACTER IN BRIDESMAIDS

 One of the reasons so many women, including myself, found the Rhodes character (played by O’Dowd) so appealing is because he was a respectful, nice guy.

odowdbridesmaids1
O’Dowd as Nathan Rhodes in ‘Bridesmaids,’ via screen cap from IMDB

I cannot picture the Rhodes character insulting or mocking people face- to- face, in interviews, or on social media, and not for having differing political or religious views from his.

There’s a scene in the film where the Annie character is pouring her heart out to Rhodes.

Annie is telling Rhodes she’s broke, she’s depressed, her life has fallen apart, and she’s lonely now that her best friend is getting married.

Rhodes responds by telling Annie it’s okay that she’s made some mistakes, her life will turn around, and he’s spent enough time with her to know she’s an okay person.

Now, could you imagine how that scene would’ve gone, if the Rhodes character was like O’Dowd in real life, and supposing the Annie character was a Christian and Republican?

The dialogue would’ve been more like Rhodes saying to Annie,

“I’m sorry you’re broke, but you’re an absolute idiot. I bet you even “prayed” to your God to help you save your business, what a moron you are to believe in prayer! You’re also a backwoods hillbilly for voting Republican.”

iconGreen1 Do you think that scene would’ve gone over with the audience in movie theaters? No.

And sentiments like that sure as hell don’t play well coming out of the mouth of the actor who played that guy in the film.

Assuming Rhodes and Annie had dated and friended each other on social media, could you imagine if the Rhodes character then went on to his social media and posted or Tweeted such rude things about Christians or Republicans?

How do you think the Annie character would’ve reacted? She would’ve been turned off and offended, I’m sure.

I cannot picture the Rhodes character from ‘Bridesmaids’ slamming or ridiculing people online or in person over anything, let alone politics and religion. But O’Dowd does this regularly in interviews and online.

APPARENTLY LEARNED NOTHING FROM THE CHARACTER HE PLAYED

There was at least one scene in the movie where O’Dowd’s character, Rhodes, basically tells the Annie character that she should realize that her actions or words can hurt the people around her.

Yes, that is a good life lesson. One’s actions and words can hurt or offend the people around them. Very true.

How strange that the very actor who gave that lesson in this film – as the Rhodes character – does not seem cognizant of it in real life: he seems to find it amusing, or he’s apathetic, that people find his anti-Republican put-downs, or his insults of people of faith, insulting.

Was O’Dowd not paying attention during that scene in the movie as they were rehearsing or filming it, or when he read the script with those lines in it?

How can O’Dowd play a character in a film who corrects another one for being so unaware as to how her actions or words can hurt those around her, then turn around in real life, and do the very thing his movie character was advising against?

CAVALIER ATTITUDE

A year or two ago – and I apologize for not recalling where I saw this, and I didn’t book mark the page – O’Dowd was being interviewed by some journalist while taking a break from play rehearsals (he was in a play with James Franco, I believe).

The journalist asked O’Dowd about his controversial GQ interview, where he insulted people of faith and the uproar that ensued, and the journalist said O’Dowd did not offer an apology for any of this, but basically just grinned, shrugged his shoulders, and said, “Eh, what are you going to do?”

O’Dowd was given an opportunity to apologize there, but blew it off.

More on that point in a moment.

After O’Dowd was reported to have said some strong, negative things about movie director Michael Bay a few years ago, the media reported that O’Dowd then sent a letter or e-mail of apology to Bay, which Bay shared on his site.

Apology that O’Dowd sent to Bay, which appears on Bay’s blog here (date of post: March 16, 2012)

Excerpt from apology as it appears on Bay’s blog:

Anyway, I [Chris O’Dowd] genuinely feel bad if this has hurt your [Bay’s] feelings. It was always unlikely we’d ever work together given our differing genres and my own general physical ineptitude.

But I hate the idea of offending anyone unnecessarily, that’s really not me. So please accept this apology with the sincerity from which it comes.

—(end excerpt)—

As I said, the ‘Bridesmaids’ movie sort of cheered me up after I lost my mom to cancer.

My Mom was a Republican and a Christian.

My sister had a live-in boyfriend for many years who was a liberal and an atheist, and my mother treated him kindly, like he was a son. She was not condescending, rude, or mean to the sister’s boyfriend at all, despite their religious and political differences.

arrowOrange Every time I see an atheist such as O’Dowd mock or insult Republicans or people of faith, it is the same thing as them doing so to my mother.

Any time O’Dowd gets on to his Twitter account to laugh at all Republicans, it’s as though he’s saying, “Buttered Popcorn Blog Lady, your mother, who you loved very much and who you grieved for, was a moron, because she was a Republican.”

When O’Dowd says in interviews that people who believe in a God are stupid, or cult-like, or like racists, he’s in effect saying,

“Buttered Popcorn Blog lady, your mother, who you were so very close to, was a cultic, moronic, stupid, racist pig, because she believed in God.”

I am astounded that O’Dowd will give an apology over some comments about an actress that he and some director were all in a dispute with, but when asked to comment about his insensitive, horrible remarks about people of faith, he opted out.

O’Dowd is fine with insulting and hurting people such as myself or like my mother (and over deeply held personal convictions to boot), but he’s not okay with hurting or insulting a Hollywood movie director (and over something like the topic of sexism in Hollywood or working with difficult actresses). arrowOrangePointLeft

 O’Dowd is entirely cavalier about hurting or offending people who are not Hollywood directors, apparently.

What a misplaced set of priorities. What terrible morality.

And it’s completely out of step with the character he played in ‘Bridesmaids,‘ which I found so shocking, disappointing.

I looked this guy up online expecting to find out nice things about him, after having seen him in ‘Bridesmaids.’

I thought I’d see wonderful headlines such as, “Chris O’Dowd Rescues Stray Kittens from Trees,” and “O’Dowd Assists Elderly Dementia Patient Across Busy Streets.”

But no.

Instead, I see O’Dowd essentially putting down my mother and me, and other people I know, people who have conservative political beliefs, and who believe in a God.

There used to be a famous American atheist named Madalyn Murray O’Hair – she was murdered (article on her murder via New York Times).

One of her sons, William Murray, who was raised to be an atheist, later became a Christian. You can read more about that here:

Son calls famous atheist Madalyn O’Hair “evil”

Then there is this, on The Mercury News site:

Ask Amy [advice columnist]: Atheists mourn child’s turn toward religion

In that letter, some atheist parents wrote to Ask Amy to say they are upset  textAdviceDaughterConvertbecause their daughter, whom they raised to be atheist, dated or got engaged to a Christian guy and is now a Christian herself.

I am hoping that O’Dowd’s son (he and his wife had a son in January 2015), and their next kid (his wife just announced she’s having Kid #2 sometime this summer of 2017), and any other kids they have, in the future, become right wing Republicans and convert to Christianity.

That would be poetic justice.

Let’s see O’Dowd go on his social media in the future or open his mouth to mock conservatives and Christians in interviews, if his own children are such. (Unless he’s going to pull a Madalyn Murray O’Hair and disown his own children.)

Chris O’Dowd is a great big jerk.

I never in a million years would have guessed that the actor who seems so sweet in his role in the movie could be so rude, condescending, smutty, and gross in real life.

I wish I had never seen the ‘Bridesmaids’ movie, or that I had never looked O’Dowd up on the internet. He is awful.

The cop character of Rhodes as written is okay (congratulations to Annie Mumolo and Kristen Wiig for writing a very appealing male character), I don’t have a problem with the character, but the guy who plays him is almost completely unappealing in real life.

If anyone out there knows of a movie that’s similar, one that carries a message of, “it’s okay to fail at things in life, just don’t give up,” I am open to suggestions.


avoiding

BOYCOTTING. If you are a conservative, or a person of faith who is or was offended by O’Dowd’s rants against Republicans, conservatives, and theists in interviews or on his social media  and would like to avoid him in any of his television shows or movies, you can see a list of his past and future roles here:

Chris O’Dowd acting / voice roles, listed on IMDB


From other sites:

Video on You Tube – by an agnostic guy. I agree with most of his comments in the video:

Actor Chris O’Dowd; Personification of Obnoxious Atheists? 

Via People’s Republic of Cork discussion forum:

Is yer man Chris O’Dowd annoying? (many in the thread say, yes, he is)


This post has been edited several times to fix typing errors, add new links, etc. It’s a work in progress as I find more articles and videos to add.


Closing note: I will not debate with or entertain comments by rude or argumentative types, and that would above all, include anti-theist atheists, who are always hateful and nasty (I’ve never met a nice or non-condescending one; they get offended easily, and they LOVE to argue with anyone who has anything the least bit critical to say about anti-theistic atheism no matter how politely it’s stated).

I won’t entertain nasty comments from them or anyone, not here, and not on Twitter. The moment I see a comment is vitriolic, I will stop reading it and will trash it immediately and will block the sender.


See Also:

Actor Chris O’Dowd’s Misunderstanding of the ‘Bridesmaids’ Movie Annie Character

If You Enjoyed Actor Chris O’Dowd as Nathan Rhodes Avoid Him In These Other Roles – Re: Bridesmaids Movie

Entertainers Who Won’t Keep Their Obnoxious Political or Religious Views Private or Who Are Jerks About It

Topless Feminist Activists Disrupt Woody Allen Jazz Concert in Germany

‘The Bachelor’ Star Chris Soules Is Not the Nice Guy ABC Sold Us by Brandy Zadronzy

Leave a Reply

