Songs – Motivational and Encouraging

Here are some songs I’ve found motivational, or helpful, in times of emotional duress – some of these listed below are ones I listened to on repeat in the years following the death of someone I was very close to and kept me holding on (when nothing much else helped).

I used to have clinical depression, still have anxiety (at times, including full blown panic attacks), and I have insomnia – and on occasion, self-doubt. Some of the songs below help me out during times of worry or insecurity.

Some of these songs deal with getting up and trying again, even though some of your dreams didn’t come true, or you failed at something. Others may deal with some kind of loss or with depression. Some are religious in nature, others not.

Because videos are sometimes pulled from You Tube due to copyright infringement, I’ll place links to the same song on other people’s accounts, in case the embedded video (or first link) gets pulled.

SONG 1.

Hold on Tight – by ELO (Electric Light Orchestra)

Link 1 Link 2 | Link 3

Sample Lyrics:

Hold on tight to your dream
When you see your ship go sailing
When you feel your heart is breaking
Hold on tight to your dream

SONG 2.

The Promise – by The Martins

Link 1 | Link 2 (with Lyrics on screen) | Link 3

Sample Lyrics:

I never said that fear wouldn’t find you in the night
Or that loneliness was something you’d never have to fight
But I did say I’d be right there by your side
And I did say I’ll always help you fight

‘Cause you know I made a promise that I intend to keep
My grace will be sufficient in every time of need
And my love will be the anchor that you can hold onto
This is the promise, this is the promise I made to you

SONG 3.

I Believe I Can Fly – by R. Kelly

Link 1 | Link 2 | Link 3

Sample Lyrics:

I used to think that I could not go on
And life was nothing but an awful song
But now I know the meaning of true love
I’m leaning on the everlasting arms
If I can see it, then I can do it
If I just believe it, there’s nothing to it
I believe I can fly
I believe I can touch the sky

SONG 4.

The Sun Is Rising – by Britt Nicole

Link 1 | Link 2 | Link 3

Sample Lyrics:

When life has cut too deep and left you hurting
The future you had hoped for is now burning
And the dreams you held so tight lost their meaning
And you don’t if you’ll ever find the healing
You’re gonna make it
You’re gonna make it
And the night can only last for so long

SONG 5. 

You’re Only Human – by Billy Joel

Link 1 | Link 2 | Link 3

Sample Lyrics:

You’re only human
You’re allowed to make your share of mistakes
You better believe there will be times in your life
When you’ll be feeling like a stumbling fool
So take it from me you’ll learn more from your accidents
Than anything that you could ever learn at school
Don’t forget your second wind

….It’s not always easy to be living in this world of pain
You’re gonna be crashing into stone walls again and again
It’s alright
It’s alright
Though you feel your heart break
You’re only human
You’re gonna have to deal with heartache
Just like a boxer in a title fight
You got to walk in that ring all alone
You’re not the only one who’s made mistakes
But they’re the only thing that you can truly call your own
Don’t forget your second wind

SONG 6.

Roar – by Katy Perry

Link 1 | Link 2

Sample Lyrics:

You held me down, but I got up (hey!)
Already brushing off the dust
You hear my voice, your hear that sound
Like thunder, gonna shake your ground
You held me down, but I got up
Get ready ’cause I’ve had enough
I see it all, I see it now

I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter
Dancing through the fire
‘Cause I am the champion, and you’re gonna hear me roar
Louder, louder than a lion
‘Cause I am a champion, and you’re gonna hear me roar!

SONG 7.

Over and Over – by Madonna

Link 1 | Link 2 | Link 3

Sample Lyrics:

You try to criticize my drive
If I lose I don’t feel paralyzed
It’s not the game it’s how you play
And if I fall I get up again now
I get up again, over and over
Got past my first mistake

SONG 8.

I Hope You Dance – by Lee Anne Womack

Link 1 | Link 2 | Link 3

Sample Lyrics:

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance,
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Livin’ might mean takin’ chances but they’re worth takin’,
Lovin’ might be a mistake but it’s worth makin’,

Don’t let some hell bent heart leave you bitter,
When you come close to sellin’ out reconsider,
Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.
I hope you dance….I hope you dance.

SONG 9. 

He’s Concerned For You – by CeCe Winans

Link 1 | Link 2 (with Lyrics on screen) | Link 3 (with Lyrics)

Sample Lyrics:

God is, just a prayer away
All you need to do is call
He will hear, your faintest cry
He’s concerned about you

So while your tears are flowing through
Your time of mourning
He is here to lift your heavy heart
‘Cause He’s in love with you

He knows
He cares
He sees
He’s there
And He’ll carry you
He’s concerned about you

SONG 10.

Letting Go – by Anthony Evans

Link 1 | Link 2

Sample Lyrics:

Behind your disguise
I see in your eyes
Something has left you wounded
I don’t have the answers
For all of your tears
But you’re not abandoned here

He knows where you are
He’s been there too
When you can’t go on
Hell carry you through
When your loosing hope
He’s still in control
He’s never letting go

Song 11.

Don’t Worry Be Happy

Link 1 | Link 2 | Link 3

Sample Lyrics:

In every life we have some trouble
But when you worry you make it double
Don’t worry, be happy
Don’t worry, be happy now

Song 12.

God’s Been There – by the Wardlaw Brothers

Link 1

This next song is about a woman who is late on her rent, she finds out her boyfriend is cheating on her, and she gets fired from her job. This song may strike some people as a weird one to listen to when you’re down and depressed, but I sometimes find it comforting to know that someone else, some where, has experienced the same sort of turmoil I have…

Song 13.

Some Kind of Trouble – by Tanya Tucker

Link 1 | Link 2

Sample Lyrics:

Late One Night I Heard a Knock on my door
To Know Surprise it was my Landlord
He Notified me I was late with the rent
What Can Ya Do With Your Last Dollar Spent

Ya Got Trouble, Some Kind Of Trouble

I Called UP My Baby for a Little Advice
Because My Sugar Baby Always Treats Me So Nice
I Had A Funny Feeling he wasn’t alone
When i Heard another voice whisper “hang up the phone”

I got Trouble, Some Kind of Trouble

Song 14.

Does Jesus Care? / God Will Take Care of You – sung by Mark Lowry

Link 1

Sample Lyrics:

Does Jesus care when I’ve said goodbye
To the dearest on earth to me,
And my sad heart aches till it nearly breaks—
Is it aught to Him? Does He see?

Oh, yes, He cares, I know He cares,
His heart is touched with my grief;
When the days are weary, the long nights dreary,
I know my Savior cares.

Song 15.

Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head – sung by B J Thomas 

Link 1 | Link 2 | Link 3

Sample Lyrics:

But there’s one thing I know
The blues they send to meet me
Won’t defeat me it won’t be long
Till happiness
Steps up to greet me

Raindrops keep falling on my head
But that doesn’t mean my eyes
Will soon be turning red
Crying’s not for me cause,
I’m never gonna stop the rain by complaining
Because I’m free, Nothing’s worrying me
It won’t be long
Till happiness
Steps up to greet me

This next one might be a good song to listen to if you feel your circumstances are changing and getting better – sometimes I listen to this one even if I’m still in a not- so- great mood, because it gives me hope I can feel the same way eventually that the guy in the song is feeling:

Song 16.

I Can See Clearly Now – sung by Jimmy Cliff

Link 1 | Link 2

Sample Lyrics:

I think I can make it now, the pain is gone
All of the bad feelings have disappeared
Here is the rainbow I’ve been prayin’ for
It’s gonna be a bright (bright), bright (bright)
Sun-Shiny day.

Look all around, there’s nothin’ but blue skies
Look straight ahead, nothin’ but blue skies

_____SUGGESTIONS FROM OTHER SITES_____

A lot of other sites are recommending “Eye of the Tiger” by Survivor – I’ve heard this song before, and it’s okay, but it’s not one I personally tend to listen to if I’m down and feeling beaten down by life:

Eye of the Tiger – by Survivor

Link 1 | Link 2

Top 42 Motivational Songs Playlist 

Hope and Resilience Songs

30 Inspirational Songs that Keeps You Motivated for Life

Nine Songs To Listen to on Repeat When You’re Depressed

10 Songs of Hope for the Depressed Heart

56 Most Inspirational Songs of All Time

46 Songs about Overcoming Obstacles, Adversity, Hard Times, Challenges and Not Giving Up


See Also (other posts on this blog):

You’re Not Failing Enough, by Diane Paddison

Why the Fear of Rejection Overrides One’s Ability to Ask for What They Want or Need

How to Stop Caring About What Other People Think – Don’t Let A Little Criticism Hold You Back, by Simran Takhar

Why the Best Success Stories Often Begin With Failure by Amy Crawford

Forget Positive Thinking: This Is How To Actually Change Negative Thoughts For Success by M. Wilding

After 27 Rejections, Dr. Seuss Almost Burned His First Unpublished Book – But He Hung In There and Went on to Become a Best-Selling Author

Best-Sellers Initially Rejected

Top 10 Regrets Of The Dying by Dale Partridge

Leave a Reply

